Enfin

So, I’ve wanted another tattoo for ages. I had decided that I wanted something that reminded me how far I have come. How I scraped myself out of the pits of depression and how I finally dug myself out of the black hole I was in and emerged more my pink self.

Helen wrote a post a while ago that really struck a chord with me, about how, after all this time, she was finally becoming the person she wanted to be.

I totally get that.

After 5 years, possibly a little more, of feeling totally lost in my own body and locked up inside my own thoughts….I have finally come back out of my shell. I don’t worry as much what people think, I have more confidence in myself, I more or less like what I see in the mirror and I laugh more than I have done in ages.

Despite the stuff that I have gone through with The Boy recently, I  have maintained my sense of self, I have not let the self doubt creep in and (apart from a few slips) I have not let myself slip back down that slope.

I am very please with myself.  I am very happy. There is a noticeable and marked change that other people are seeing too.

Finally. Enfin. I am myself again.

25 thoughts on “Enfin

  1. Georgia says:

    It looks more healed already. I really like it!

    Like

  2. LizSara says:

    Congratulations and well done for symbolising your healing so prettily too

    Like

  3. nuttycow says:

    Hoorah! Glad you’re feeling like you’re on the way up…

    Like

  4. miss*H says:

    It’s pretty!!! It’s lovely to have a tattoo that is symbolic rather than something that looked pretty on the flash.

    Like

  5. Jenn says:

    Looks great!
    You’re great!
    Love it love it love it!
    x

    Like

  6. pinkjellybaby says:

    Georgia it’s still a little pink around the edges but shouldn’t take too long to heal up nicely 🙂

    LizSara thank you…it was an life event that I just had to mark somehow

    Nuttycow I’m glad too. Obv. get down times but mostly I catch myself and think ‘hey, i’m happy!’ woot.

    MissH thanks, I’m glad I took a while to decide what I wanted..now I can look at it and think HORRAH!!!!! 😀

    Like

  7. Elle says:

    It’s a fab tattoo and fab to hear you’re feeling happy – that’s the way life should be. 🙂

    Like

  8. pinkjellybaby says:

    Elle indeed it is! 🙂

    Like

  9. boredben says:

    That’s awesome. Tastefully done. It’s cool that every time you look at your tattoo, you know exactly why it’s there and what you’ve been through to get to this point. Really pleased that you’re feeling like your old self.

    Like

  10. Paula says:

    It looks great! And because it means something personal to your character, it’s extra special. 🙂

    Like

  11. Helen says:

    Love it honey! It’s fab, just like you xx

    Like

  12. pinkjellybaby says:

    Ben I’m glad too, it’s a much better way to be!

    Paula exactly, no point in getting something just for the sake of it!

    Helen thanks! I’ve missed out on loads of your blog 😦 Reader hasn’t been showing it and I can’t read from work. I’m GUTTED I missed the yellow shoes 😦

    Like

  13. Ellen says:

    Yay! 🙂

    Like

  14. Felisa says:

    I’m so glad to hear that you’re feeling more at peace now. It’s a beautiful tattoo and one that I’m sure you’ll never regret getting because it’s symbolic of something so great 🙂

    Like

  15. Eleni says:

    Simple and lovely. I like it!

    And I’m happy to hear that with all the chaos you’ve been going through, you are happy with yourself.

    Like

  16. Jo says:

    (pssst…what does enfin mean)

    Like

  17. (means ‘finally’ or ‘at last’)

    Like

  18. Soupy says:

    I really like it Pinky. It’s very tasteful and, as the others have said, it’s just wonderful that it really means something. I think a lot of people get tattoos because they think they’ll look cool and don’t put the same amount of thought into what the tattoo says or looks like.

    Well done to you for all you have come through xx

    Like

  19. Perpetual says:

    That looks really good Pinky, very good indeed.

    It is good that it means something to you, rather than just being a fashion accessory tattoo.

    Like

  20. Leigh says:

    It’s really nice to hear something so positive .. & I really love the tattoo.

    Like

  21. Breeza says:

    I like it! Looks very elegant!

    Like

  22. Jo says:

    (ok thanks, I like the sentiment)

    Like

  23. Fabulous says:

    Like i said. Its lush. Makes me think that maybe i would have one.
    Was it really painful?. Expensive?

    Like

  24. sungirltan says:

    ooooh pretty. i am desperate for new ink

    Like

Comments are closed.

