Dear Me.

There has been a hash tag whizzing round the Twitter world that for once, has been rather interesting. I spent a lot of yesterday reading people’s #tweetyour16yearoldself, so here’s mine.

Dear 16 year old me,

I know you’re not likely to listen. Your head right now is full of parties and alcohol and if you’ll get served tonight for the four pack of Diamond White in Threshers. You will, you always do, so just take a moment to read this.

First off, dump him. I know you’ve been together for ages but don’t wait 3 more years. Don’t believe him when tells you you’re fat, you are tiny. You’re stunning, believe me, I’m you just not as hot. Make the most of it. I know you worry that no one else will like you, he’s done that to you, but they will, heck they do! Get chatting to that guy who likes you with the yummy hands in the year above, before some other girl messes him up for you.

This simple act of getting rid of First Boyfriend, him not controlling you will make a big difference to the rest of your life. You’ll be able to go away to uni, not be quilted into staying by him – study to be a counsellor. Trust me, it will save you years. Pick easy A-levels, doesn’t matter if they’re boring, it’s the grades that count. Don’t be scared of moving away, one day you might even move all the way to Spain. You can do it.

You’ve just been to the doctors, because you’ve been ill a lot. You think it messed up your GCSEs, it hasn’t, it’s ok. When the doctor tells you she thinks you might be depressed, that the million blood tests didn’t show anything because it’s your head that is broken, don’t laugh at her. Get this sorted now, five years down the line, it would be much worse.

Most importantly, I know you’re sad and lonely, I know about the cuts on your arms. Those girls who you thought were your friends, they’re just young and don’t know any better. You don’t understand why, it’s because they’re just jealous, your Mum is right. You might not ever really come to terms with why they turned on you but honestly, it was nothing you did. You are a great friend. Please stop hurting yourself.
You feel on the outside of the new group of girls but you’re not, get involved more. There’s no need to feel lonely, don’t be afraid of putting yourself back out there, these girls won’t do the same. They love you and you’ll still be friends with them in 10 years.

Lastly and quickly; do more sports, learn to play the guitar, never wear that green dress again or those flares, be nicer to your Mum, spend more time with your Sister and go on a girls holiday to Malia when they invite you.

Please please for the love of God, get rid of that centre parting.

lots of love
Your future you.
x

13 thoughts on “Dear Me.

  1. Blonde says:

    I have goosebumps. x

    Like

  2. Jenn says:

    I spent last night writing my own one of these after the whole Twitter thing, but I couldn’t do it through crying.
    Well done sweetie x

    Like

  3. smidge says:

    Fabulous.

    That’s pretty much it x

    Like

  4. Georgia King says:

    I have been thinking about this since I saw the posts on Twitter. The 16 year old me had her issues and problems but I’m lucky to be able to say I can’t think of much I would say to her. She was somewhat unpopular because of her strong will and determination to do her own thing and not follow the crowd. This made her miserable sometimes, but she stuck to her guns and I’m proud of those things now! Luckily I would just encourage her to carry on how she’s going. She had a short relationship that would stay with her her whole life and make her more heart broken than she’s ever been in her life since, but again, I dont regret that it happened. I appreciate that it happened. Things weren’t perfect by any stretch of the imagination but I don’t regret a thing!

    I think the only thing I would like to tell her is that one of her best friends is suffering like hell, and she was keeping it to herself so well that no-one would give her the help she needed for a very long time afterward. I wish I had known how unhappy she was at the time so I could turn her life around for her!

    Like

  5. This is a lovely note to yourself. And the benefit of hindsight, huh?

    Like

  6. Sebastian says:

    Ye gods, that was a tear-jerker.

    Like

  7. Felisa says:

    Aww that was heart-wrenching. Glad you now know that you’re great though 🙂

    Like

  8. Alexia says:

    “Please stop hurting yourself.” This is definitely something I would say to myself. At many ages. The sad thing is, I think a lot of people would want to tell their young selves.

    Lovely post. It has definitely inspired me to write my own letter.

    Like

  9. pikz says:

    absolutely brilliant! i don’t know how to begin writing mine xxx

    Like

  10. roseski says:

    I have goosebumps too. Like, really.

    16 seems so long ago, but in hindsight it really was such a tough time.

    Like

  11. Helen says:

    Totally just cried reading this. I might do one of my own. I love you, my other me xx

    Like

  12. Lisa says:

    Very clever. I think I would have a book to write to my 16-year-old self.

    Like

  13. hoverfrog says:

    That’s so sweet. My 16 year old self wouldn’t listen. I would probably have to punch him and yell “pay attention to other people, they’re important too” or something.

    Ho hum, it has been said that youth is wasted on the young and I rather think that they have a point.

    Like

Comments are closed.

