Me, Myself and I

Oh my, I really need to start writing again. I love it, I like getting it all out there. Why should i worry if it’s a little repetitive for you guys? How can you ever get bored of my tales of woe or my stories about what man I have scared away recently? You can’t, right so…. update one.

Me.

I have things to report, I must say. I’m not sure why I’ve not written about it yet but I think perhaps I was just trying to see where things went and how it all got on but I think I have enough material here to give you all a run down.

(Did I make that sound like I have a man? Sorry, I don’t!)

It’s been three months since my last confession. No, not really. It’s been three months since I went to see a hypnotherapist…. on account of my ‘confidence’. I was sceptical and not really even that sure that I’d done it right or that anything had even gone on but you know what, it only bloody did.

At first I didn’t notice myself but close friends and my parents commented on a change in me, mostly that I seemed happier and much chattier. Then as time went on, I started to notice it myself, just in little ways – standing in a bar with my friends, guys come over to chat and usually I back off and let everyone else do the talking. Well not any more, I get right in there – I don’t even really think about it as an issue, I’ll suddenly catch myself in the middle of a conversation without having had the whole internal ‘but WHAT are you going to say?’ battle.

Then quite a major shift two weeks ago. We went on a night out where I knew two people well (they went home early) and the Birthday girl. Now usually, my friends sulking off home would have had me follow them, but not this time. Oh no. I stayed out for the rest of the night with a bunch of people I didn’t really know…and I wasn’t even so drunk that I didn’t care…and it was fine. I might have even kissed one of them.

This might not sound like all that much, but for me, it’s a massive change. I’m getting to the point where getting out there and making new friends doesn’t seem so scary. I even went on a date with a man from on the internet (not done that in years!). With my best friends being not so great at the moment, this is all very welcome news.

It’s slow progress, but it’s very noticable. Do you even recognise me?

9 thoughts on “Me, Myself and I

  1. Jo says:

    That’s blummin’ fantastic news. You were sceptical about it and it’s good to know that stuff like this (that you read about in books and hear them talking about on Oprah and stuff) can actually work. And good to see you thinking about blogging regularly again. Life IS repetitive, we all do the same thing every day, but doesn’t mean a blog has to be. x

    Like

  2. Daniel says:

    That does indeed sound like progress – well done!

    Like

  3. DiscoMcDisco says:

    So you DID turn a corner then. Excellent ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

  4. Urbanvox says:

    Oh yay pinky!!!! So happy to hear… Well read… That!!!! ๐Ÿ™‚
    Changes take time but when they come they are really worth it!!! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Ps: when we doing those photos?!?!? ๐Ÿ˜‰ *giggles*

    Like

  5. Blonde says:

    Oh hurrah. Excellent news, Pinky. Really happy for you. xx

    Like

  6. Smidge says:

    Really good news hon, I had noticed a lot more positivity coming from your direction x

    Like

  7. Richard says:

    Hey,

    I noticed and an inkling about the last bit too.

    It strange but just reading about your confidence has made my room dusty.
    Iโ€™m so glad the hypnotherapist worked, although at the end of the day it is YOU that has made the change.

    We should hook up soon. Are you confident enough to share an evening meal and a chin wag, Maybe a tapas โ€“ Enjoying your company is always a pleasure
    R

    Like

  8. nuttycow says:

    Well yay – I’m glad it’s all going so well. Stick to it and keep challenging yourself. x

    Like

  9. Jo I was sceptical, and I still have no idea how or why it worked. It’s strange, changing and having no idea how or why or even really noticing it happen that much!

    Dan, Disco Hurrah indeed!

    Vox Not yet!

    Blonde thank you!
    Smidge How strange that I think I was the last one to realise!

    Rich Yes, I need to see you soon.

    Miss Cow Thanks. Just a few other things to get me head around now!

    Like

Comments are closed.

