Budget Beauty

For a girl who will happily spend £200 plus on a haircut and has five or six £30-40 foundations sitting in a makeup drawer, I’m oddly stingy when it comes to skincare.

Don’t get me wrong, looking after my skin is important, but I think you can get great products at a fraction of the price if you get some great recommendations or you’re willing to give things a try.

I’ve also found out the hard way, that sometimes with make up, expensive doesn’t always equal better. So, I’ve done a quick round-up of my favourites for you. (I’ve not been paid, asked, or given free gifts for this post.)

Skincare

  1. Boots No.7 hot cloth cleanser. I was recommended this by Mizz Ban and have since told everyone I know about it. Feels indulgent, leaves skin soft and clean and helps with breakouts. A steal at £9.95 but even cheaper when they have their No.7 voucher deals.
  2. Yes To….. I read about this in a magazine and swiped the Yes To Tomatoes moisturiser and cleanser when I was suffering oil slicks and break outs. The moisturiser is sufficient that I don’t get dry spots, but neither do I get oily throughout the day. Lovely and light and apparently, good for my skin! They have other products for different skin types too. Ranges from £5-£15.
  3. Body Shop seaweed day cream. Another one to control the oil but great for combination skin. Light, quickly absorbed, no shine all day. Recommended to Soupy who also loves it. Nice size tub for £4.
  4. Superdrug Vitamin E skin oil. Don’t let the fact that this is an oil put you off, it won’t make you feel oily or greasy. This little tiny bottle is a lovely treat for your face. I keep mine in my wash bag for post swim when my skin is so tight I feel like Joan Rivers. At £2.99 what’s not to like?!
  5. Boots Botanics eye makeup remover. Gets off even waterproof mascara and liquid eyeliner without rubbing. I think that’s all I need to say. £3.99 but often in their deals.

Makeup

  1. Revlon Just Bitten (BIG crayon things). I tried these, £7.99. I tried the Clinique Chubby Stick, £17. Guess which is better by a country mile? Soft lips, wash of colour. Bingo.
  2. 17 tattoo me liquid eyeliner. If you can get your hands on this (it’s sold out in most places), then do. Helen told me about it after we’ve been hunting for eyeliner that stays put all day. I can’t use the wibbly little brush that comes with it, so I use my own eyeliner brush. £4.99 bargain.
  3. Max Factor mascara. I’d recommend any of them but I usually go for 2000 calories (a classic) and more recently, I did a review of the eye brightening one – I don’t see a difference in the brightness of my eyes but my lashes look great! Depending on where you get it £8-£12 ish but considering I’ve spend a lot on big brand mascaras and always been let down, it’s worth trying a few out!

There we have it, my picks…and just for an out of left field idea… This week, I found myself with a horrible, very red and sore crater on my forehead from where I had squeezed and squeezed a spot. A hole, really and honestly where the spot had been. So before I went to bed, I chucked some Manuka honey on it (only the 6+ cheapest one) and the next morning…. GONE. No red, no spot, no hole, no sign of it at all.

Tagged , , , , , ,

4 thoughts on “Budget Beauty

  1. lofrede says:

    Totally agree with the botanics eye makeup , lovely stuff. I’ve only ever found 1 mascara that doesn’t flake and have tried everything from super expensive to dirt cheap. Lash Architect is just perfect for me

    Definitely going to get some manuka honey too

    Like

  2. pinkjellybaby says:

    It tastes pretty nice as well, great in a nice bit of yogurt!

    Like

  3. Paula says:

    Good tip about the honey – I’ll have to bear that in mind. May give the Boots hot cloth cleanser a go too.

    Like

  4. […] I’m a girl who likes a product, as you might have guessed…and I don’t mind splashing out on it either. But I just love it when I find a bargain that works as well as the luxury brands, and I really do love to tell everyone about it. […]

    Like

Comments are closed.

